What is so special about Call of Duty 4?

 

Really, what is? tell me? I got the game, I played it and you know how I feel?

Disappointed and Underwhelmed.

I’ve been a long time Call of Duty fan ( I loved CoD1 & 2 on PC) but CoD4 is just a giant step backwards considering it was released in 2007 alongside behemoths like BioShock and Crysis (which by the way, contribute a fuckload more to the FPS genre then CoD4 ever could) . considering how flawed and dated Call of Duty 4 feels, it surprises me that pretty much everyone is praising it? why? is Call of Duty 4 causing mass retardation? or has everyone lost the balls to deliver an individual unbiased opinion? are you too “unKool” so form an opinion that doesn’t match your friend’s? If you are, then may I recommend sticking a icepick in your eye? or even better, how about swallowing a live grenade?
As if that wasn’t bad enough, CoD4 won numerous GoTY awards while more deserving titles like Crysis, BioShock watched via the sidelines.

So here are my complaints regarding Call of Duty 4; I’ve decided to split them into two parts (SP and MP) though I know it doesn’t really matter and the dipshit brainwashed fanboys drooling over PSN/XBM/GameInformer will still rate the game 11/10….but hey, what the hell, this is my blog and my ego-trip, afterall!

Single Player –

Story: Let’s see, where do I start? let’s tackle the “OMG Cinematic Feel!!!!” first. so Call of Duty 4 has a cinematic feel to it, yeah, and that’s it. the story is your typical arab-terrorist-with-nuke (yawn) seriously, I am positively sure a Giant cookie going around and tazering someone is more interesting then this stereotypical crap. is Infinity Ward THIS shallow? Atleast in CoD1/2, you were fighting things that actually happened, so no one could really blame IW for the way the game progressed; but since CoD4 is based in modern times (hence, “Modern Warfare) you need a strong (or atleast fresh) story to compliment this style of presentation. not to mention, half of the time, the game feels like a movie that you really watch from the sidelines and not something that you’re actually taking part in.

Graphics: did anyone say dated? I love the low resolution textures and I digg re-using animations (from CoD2) but hey, I don’t like nit-picking and I am okay with average graphics as long as the gameplay is holds up. which it doesn’t (more bitching on that later) as for performance, get real, the game is using a 2year+ old engine, with cards like X1950/8800 series, you’re an idiot if you think you’ll get poor performance and the same logic applies to PS3/X360 since both consoles have achieved a significant amount of optimisation and clearly have no troubles running older engines smoothly, all the time. oh and those of you thinking Call of Duty 4 looks better than Crysis:

Call of Duty 4:

Crysis:

also, I need more BLOOD and GORE damn it!

Sound – Undoubtly the lamest part of the game. believe it or not, IW had the audacity to actually repeat sound effects from Call of Duty 2! Remember when you die in Call of Duty 2 and the familiar high-pitched bullet whizzing sound you got? well, when you die in Call of Duty 4, you hear the exact the same thing! not to mention all the weapons in the game sound like some 8 year old is beating a coke can with a lump of wood. the dry but very strong “Thud” of AK-47 is nowhere to be heard and the G36K sounds like M4-Carbine. the only good part about the sound in CoD4 is the voice acting which is of pretty high quality. that being said, pretty much every other sound effect has been sheepishly copied from CoD2.

Gameplay: ah, the most important part. I remember when CoD4 was announced (Hell, I even blogged it) Like many others, I thought moving to Modern times was a good move as they’ve pretty much utilized WWII as much as they can (which was proven wrong by the awesome MoH: Airborne) and the thought of fighting with my team mates in a modern dusty settings while taking an open-ended approach was orgasmic to say the least. Unfortunately, that’s not what CoD4 turned out to be. with WWII, a Linear design was required because the game relied on historic accuracy. but with Modern times, you could easily go on a more open-ended and non-linear design and really make the game more fun. but that just did not happen. you’re still fighting hordes and hordes of enemies (with little or no A.I.) that blindly fire on you, you’re still going to one corridor to another, you still have dipshit team mates that are operation meatshield at best. you’re still a godlike soldier that can take everything from grenade shrapnels to AK-47 rounds and recover in just few seconds. do you see the pattern? most importantly, do you see my main crib? now believe me, the last thing I want is for CoD to become something like Project Reality; but how about making it just a bit more realistic and non-linear? is that too much to ask? Crysis has proven that you can make the game plausible and fun while still adapting a sandbox approach. then why can’t IW do it? how can the character carry 400bullets and still run like a bunny-on-steroids when you press sprint? why is it that usually I can just pick up a Sniper rifle and get headshot after headshot, but during the Chernobyl mission, I have to take in weather/wind measurements in account? why is it that you give me Claymore/C4 but I only get to them when the game demands it? most importantly, why the FUCK do the enemies keep spawning until you reach a specified checkpoint? Infinite Enemy Spawning? are you trying to rhyme that with your company name? Call of Duty 4 is flawed, overly linear and a lazy attempt at modern warfare (no pun intended) the SP campaign has some great moments but it’s over in an eye flash and if you’re sane, you probably won’t bother replaying it on harder difficulty, it’s not rewarding nor interesting enough to put that much effort into it.

Multiplayer – Seriously Unbalanced is the word that sums CoD4 MP nicely. CoD4 MP uses a global ranking system (similar to BF2), first off, I am NOT a fan of the global rank e-penis shit that game developers feel obliged to shove down the throats of gamers just so they can please 20 loners who have nothing better to do in their time other than to collect more point/unlock stuff in virtual worlds. but that’s another issue entirely. coming back to the game itself, CoD4 MP’s quite feature rich at one glance with lots of gameplay modes and plenty of things to unlock. sadly, by the time you fire up and join a server, you’ll realise the true flaw that lies within: the ranking system itself. CoD4 has been out for 3 months now and given the insane popularity, there are tons of players that unlock/buy everything there is to unlock and/or buy and sadly, that means any newbie that dares playing this will get his ass handed to him most of the time. I don’t know about you, but as soon as I spawn, I don’t take kindly to getting knifed by a jerk camping in shadows (CoD4 doesn’t randomize spawning in most cases) yeah, there are cool features like the ability to call in UAV scans (3 kills without dying) and similar but really, the overall gameplay mechanics always tend to favor the overly experienced and ranked-up players and that just kills the accessibility that is essential in a good MP game. on a side note, this reminds me of Team Fortress 2 and how easy, fun, casual and accessible it is when compared to recent MP entries. if you want the best MP game, go play Team Fortress 2!

But Call of Duty 4 Sold more!

Well, ofcourse it did! how can console tards miss buying an overly hyped game like CoD4?

Final Words: CoD4 is a failure of epic proportions and Infinity Ward needs to stop making games and start working in Pig farms. Just kidding! CoD4 makes me sad and it’s for all the wrong reasons. IW has gone the id Software way, IW are too lazy to actually invent or put effort into something new and exciting. COD4 is the same dumb and linear shooter that IW Dished out in 2005. except that time, the market WAS about dumb linear shooters (and ofcourse, CoD2 was a great game) but so many things have changed, what can I say, after playing Crysis, I was expecting something equally brilliant and exciting. guess I was wrong. as for the game of the year awards, seriously, IW/Activision has bribed pretty much everyone there is to bribe. otherwise, I fail to see how this mediocre title would get away with so much praise and positive reviews all around. sorry folks, contrary to popular retard belief, CoD4 is not the second-coming of christ.

/rant

12 Responses to “What is so special about Call of Duty 4?”


  1. 1 Lester January 18, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Atayos approves this message.

  2. 2 Nick June 4, 2008 at 4:52 am

    I do agree with you that cod4 is not “god” lol. However, you make some points that are quite…well..in lack of better words…dumb! 😛

    Story: Yup, I agree they could have done a better job there.

    Graphics: wowowow…low performance? I played it on pc, ps3, and xbox 360, and there are times when it does have a low fps. Have you ever called in an airstrike in any console version? major low fps.
    For pc, I have a 3ghz cpu, and geforce 6600, and I have to run most settings on low, otherwise I will be running at 30 fps (playable still, but too low for me) on defaults. So saying that “you’re an idiot if you think you’ll get poor performance” is a completely backwards statement from my experiences.
    As for the comparison in the 2 screenshots, I don’t see how they’re comparable. The crysis one looks like it was made to have that dirty look, while the cod4 one looks like it was made for that clean look, like an office building. I do admit, crysis on high settings is much better than cod4 on it’s highest.

    Sound: Not much complaints from me, for they most part they sounded fine.

    Gameplay: The enemies did indeed have decent AI. They did flank you, they did have good aim. What else do you want? O_o
    Your team mates are less of meatshields than cod2 (well the demo at least), since now they actually kill a few enemies.
    As for being a godlike solider, I know it’s far fetched, but considering you’re a fan of cod2, this is pretty much the same thing, and in my opinion, adds to the game. Now surviving grenades sounds a bit ridiculous, since if you were beside one, when it went off, you would always die (unless you were on easy mode, in which you probably didn’t get a good taste of singleplayer mode due to the easyness of it).
    The infinity enemy spawning did get annoying at times though.

    Multiplayer: Umm…it’s quite EASY to level up in cod4. In half an hour you could gain 10 levels, if you’ve had enough experience from beating the singleplayer mode. I’ve seen full teams of level 55’s (top level), get their ass handed to them by teams full of people lower than 30! It really relies on your skill, and not the weapons. The weapons are just more of a side bonus.

    Final Notes: Failure to epic proportions? I’m still not sure how you get that conclusion. Overall, it was a well done game! All games have their flaws, but you seem to enjoy making them seem bigger than they really are for the sake of what? being different? I think you were just too hyped up, and got so disappointed, that you’re bitter about it.

    Anyway, I know it’s an old reply, but really, I had to reply when I read this. Later.

  3. 3 Raj June 4, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    lol yeah, how can my life be complete if I don’t appear “hip” over the internet by not agreeing to what everyone else is saying?

    Graphics: CoD4 looks clean because Crysis has extensive motion blur. And honestly, I am not comparing IQ of games, I posted the screens just for the sake of it. As for the performance, I don’t care about PS3 and Xbox360, I’ve been a prominent PC gamer for as long as I can remember. That aside, good FPS is a given (on any modern-day computer) because the engine being used is fairly dated. Ofcourse it’ll choke a 2005-era graphics card/CPU, that’s just natural technology progression.

    Difficulty: I played on Normal and then Hardened. Didn’t find it challenging, really. It felt like Serious Same most of the time because the number of enemies lining up to get shot in the face.

    Unlimited Health: I appreciate it was in CoD2, but it was a while ago, I’d expect they would evolve and provide something like a medkit or bandages — and allow the character to heal yourself up, a la STALKER. Oh well.

    Multiplayer: Don’t play it much, so don’t really care honestly….

    Read hard, there’s a “Just kidding!” attached after the “failure” sentence. Yeah, I am finicky and notice little flaws, guess as someone who’s playing CoD series ever since they launched, it was wrong of me to expect evolution from IW. If the rants sounds bitter and offensive, so be it. At the end of the day, it’s my personal weblog and I occasionally use it to vent my frustrations. If you don’t like it, tough luck.

    Thanks for reminding me I have a weblog, though. I’d completely forgotten about this site until the e-mail landed in my Inbox.

  4. 4 Majuro June 23, 2008 at 6:26 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Majuro!!

  5. 5 CaptCamping October 4, 2009 at 1:04 am

    The sound on the weapons are wrong. Go to soundsnap.com and listen to the guns.

  6. 6 RJ November 24, 2009 at 6:22 am

    I completely agree that call of duty modern warfare sucks when it comes to gameplay , but I kind of liked the story. The gameplay clearly sucked. Its like any generic fps. In fact i liked the latest soldier of fortune (universally dissed as a budget game) gameplay, come to think of it, it also had an ok story.
    But come on, have you played the HALOS ( they did release them on PC 1and 2 atleast)The gameplay is pretty much the same, you are a god like super soldier who keeps on piling the bodies.
    I love the Halo franchise , but I have to admit , its not groundbreaking either.

    I am pretty sure the FPS genre is not exactly the most challenging or intellectually appealing. Its all about looking cinematic and pretty and of course headshots :).

    But if you hated modern warfare try playing COD-world at war…its back to WWII and its as linear as ever , the graphics havent improved any and its buggy as hell.After 6 patches it still sucks.

  7. 7 me March 7, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    your article is subjective and not objective….. Take an english 101 class and learn the difference between the two. Then and only then will you truely be able to return a comment worthy of reading. (by the way if you do take a class like I have mentioned, then you’ll understand my comment to its fullest you FUCK…..

  8. 8 me March 7, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    hint: misspelings and wrong grammer make my comment worth reading only if you have taken, prescribed class, or in your case classes………………………………

  9. 9 Cody June 23, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    tl;dr: I don’t like this game. Therefore, it must suck. Therefore, anyone who likes it is a moron.

    *yawn*

  10. 10 SD January 24, 2011 at 2:30 am

    I’m going to jump in here with another late (very) reply. I came across this blog doing a google search for “what’s so great about COD” and I have to agree with the OP’s statements. There is nothing spectacular about COD4 – not a single thing. The story like is the same old same old, which CAN be ok if the game offers something new or better in some other area, this doesn’t. The gameplay IMHO utterly FUCKS and the appearance is literally NO better than some games I own from 2002. Seriously, I have FPS games that LOOK better AND play better than COD4 that have been around for YEARS. As for the comparison to Crysis, don’t even get me started, Crysis BLOWS COD4 back into the Spectrum ages.
    Verdict – Overrated and WAY over-hyped. I own it, have played it 3 times and now it’s on eBay with no reserve.

  11. 11 hary March 3, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    i don’t like this game……..
    but my friend very like this gam……

  12. 12 FoxMcCloud June 23, 2012 at 5:11 am

    This game has to have the most balanced multiplayer i have EVER seen. Not to mention that on the PC, i have yet to encounter a single bug. and i don’t care what you say what consoles have cause consoles SUCK!


Leave a Reply

